Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living and working in a foreign country

Nowadays many people move in to developed countries for better job and life. This essay assess the benefits and drawbacks of this trend.

To begin with, the major reason why people move in abroad is the attractive salary packages in these nations for professionals. Professionals, in developing nations, such as doctors, engineers and nurses will be in huge debt at the end of their professional course due to the education loan they took from bank in order to complete their studies. Unfortunately, the salary packages is too low for these professions in their home countries. Thus, they became forced to go abroad in search of better salary so that they can pay their debt on time. Developed countries have a better salary scale for these professions which is four times higher than the developing nations. For example, I am a nurse working in Kuwait for the past six years and i get a salary which is six times higher than that i get in India. Another point is, living and working in a different country is a opportunity to learn a new language and tradition which enhance knowledge about the world . People who living in one country for life time are often narrow minded and they have a blind belief that their religion and rituals are more valued than others.

On the other hand, there are some negative aspects for this trend. Firstly, coping with different culture and language is not as easy as many think. Many migrants ended up in jails in the foreign countries because they did not know about he culture and laws there. During the court hearings they could not express their part as they are not aware of what is being asked. Secondly, some citizens in the developed countries have a negative view about the migrants and there are many incidents about the violence against the foreigners by the local people. For example, the numerous incidents of violence took place in Australia against Indian students a few years ago. Finally, leaving relatives in home country and living alone in another country causes gaps in relationship and these gaps eventually leads to break up in relationship.

To conclude, living and working in a distant country have many advantages as well as the disadvantages. And each people have to takes decision about which is better for them living in a foreign country or home country.