Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Childhood obesity is becoming a problem throughout the developed world. Because of this, some people think that adverts for fast food, sweets and sugary snacks should not be allowed in schools and colleges.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The only thing that hits my though when I was reading the book “obesity code”, was our health is the consequence of our choices. In the modern world, it is required us to be more careful because there are countless impacts that led us to wrong or deadly ones.

In old times, Advertisements were usually about some products or household tools as I remembered some not vividly but consciously. However, these days, it is divided into two groups namely medicine and snacks that might direct us to eat unhealthy food then use expensive drugs. Especially children, they have less control over their appetite and never know they are full or not because those high in sugar products do not fully emit satiety hormone from the brain. For example, In Mongolia, due to the reason that most caregivers, especially grandparents feed their children with sugary drinks without noticing the nutritional fact, obesity has increased by each year.

Nevertheless, it is not fair to blame advertisers or manufacturers because again it is our choices that threatening our children’s health condition. Hence, banning advertisements cannot be the best solution unless finding the root cause reason for obesity. Teaching and setting example is one of the must required skills of parents to their children because they learn almost everything from their parents. Therefore, taking control of our actions is the first thing to do to prevent unhealthy weight gain of our next generation. For instance, my daughter is not obese but, I know that eating highly processed and glucose-rich food headed us unwanted weight gain, and, for this reason choosing greens rather than highly processed food is my preference.

In sum, it is not an only individual role to avoid obesity but also the community has a great effort and neither banning advertisement nor setting example cannot be the only answer.