discuss the pros and cons of learning foreign language

Language is an important method of communication so it is no coincidence that learning a second language can bring many benefits. However, there are still some drawbacks that should be taken into consideration.

On the one hand, it is clear that learning a foreign language would create several plus points. The most important advantage is making friends with different backgrounds. Being bilingual is a good chance to communicate with a wider range of people. Because of that, you may build lifelong friendships. Another advantage is that language ability can open up a world of job prospects. Nowadays, many companies hire people who speak at least two languages. The ability to speak a second language will set you apart from other applicants. Or if you are now having a job, you may have a higher salary and gain lots of experience. Last but not least, learning a foreign language provide you with an opportunity to see the world and understand different cultures. When traveling, just as a few key phrases will make your transportation become much faster, and finding a place to stay will be easier. Learning a second language also helps in studying and working abroad.

On the other hand, there are some obvious disadvantages that would arise. First, learning a foreign language can be expensive, especially for private tutoring. It's possible to learn a foreign language from books or online courses, which cost less, but practicing speaking with foreigners makes learning more interesting and effective. Second, it’s hard to learn a new language. Each language has its own grammar, alphabet, sounds, and words. And learning these things is challenging.

In conclusion, there are plus points to learning a foreign language regarding making new friends, job opportunities, seeing the world. However, the downside would emerge consequently in terms of high cost, difficulties in remembering, and so on.