Discuss the pros and cons of using public transport

Nowadays, the number of people using public transport rises sharply as they want to reduce air pollution. There are many other benefits; however, mass transportation still has some drawbacks. In this essay, the advantages and disadvantages of public transportation are examined.

The most important advantage is that taking public transport reduces pollution and improves our environment. In big cities, especially in the US or China, air pollution is a serious problem since large numbers of motorbikes and cars are used. Thus, by using public transport, the air pollution issues can be lessened quite effectively. Moreover, it is shown that public transport is much eco-friendlier than cars. What I mean is that taking mass transportation can reduce gas emissions and slow down global warming.

Secondly, public transport is much cheaper for every individual compared to owning a private car. You can save money in fuels, repairs, washing and so on if you use public transport. It is also a good choice for who can’t drive. This can be due to the fact that they don’t have driver’s licenses or have bad vision.

Despite these aforementioned benefits, several negative aspects do exist. It may be terrible with some employees because they have to wait for such a long time, especially in rush hours, until the next bus or train arrive and they can be late for work. An additional disadvantage would be a higher chance for infections with diseases. If you are unlucky, you might catch a flu or other diseases on your way to work or back home if you use public transport systems as it is often crowded.

In conclusion, it is worth considering that there are both pros and cons of using public transport. The benefits include air pollution reduction, better environment, and cost saving,… and the drawbacks would emerge consequently in terms of long waiting times, and higher chance for infections with diseases.