Distance-learning programs have gained great popularity with an increasing number of people finding it more convenient than going to the universities or colleges. Although this approach is an alternative to attending lectures in person, I think it is less effective.

The first reason is that students on these programs may not get satisfied leaning outcomes. As there is no interaction between students and lecturers, students cannot ask questions. Consequently, they may misunderstand about some concepts. Besides, assignments or quizzes that the university provides to their students will not be given in distance-learning programs, so students on this program cannot get feedbacks about their academic results.

In addition, students who conduct online study might be distracted by external factors. Unlike face-to-face lectures, online courses are based on the internet. So students taking it may be affected by unrelated websites, and thus lose concentration. They have to stay focus on the lecture video with no supervision, and if they failed to do so, self-evidently their efficiency would get lower. Therefore, taking an online-program is less effective for students unless they have strong self-control ability.

Many students might think going to universities or colleges inconvenient, so they take online courses which enable them to study in any time and at any place.This benefits many people who want to study and meanwhile do their things, but I believe it would be better for students to be enrolled in universities for they can be learn more efficiently and have better understanding of academic knowledge.