Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? A zoo has no useful purpose. Use specific reasons and examples to explain your answer.

There has been considerable debate about the existence of zoo in today’s society. While some argue that a zoo may have some essential purposes for human interest, I believe that a zoo may have no useful function as it has failed animal rights.

On the one hand, a zoo may have a significant purpose such as teaching children with a real animal life and behavior. Children can observe a wide variety of animals, touch, and even feed them directly. This activity will give children a real experience and learn to love and preserve animals. At the same time, a zoo can be useful place for a researcher. Adult people can do a research on how to preserve the extinct animals. For instance, my friend works as a researcher in a zoo to observe the behavior of Sumatran tiger. She expects that the findings of her studies may contribute to protect the extinction of big cat species in Sumatera.

On the other hand, the existence of a zoo has failed animals’ right to live in their own natural environment. I could not imagine how lions which usually live in their own habitats in Africa forced to live in an Asian zoo which has different climate and weather. Sometimes, people also separate these animals from their mother or family for the sake of human interest in a research program. I believe that without a zoo we can still watch a wide variety of animals on TV channel such as National Geographic which provides various programs of wildlife animals.

To conclude, although many believe that a zoo has educative purposes for human life, I will claim that a zoo has failed animal rights and should be demolished to preserve animals from their own habitats.