Do you think the consumer should avoid over packed products or it is the responsibility of the producer to avoid extra packaging of products?” Give your views or any relevant example with your own experience.

Packaging a product gives a new look, feel and prevent it from getting damaged easily but sometimes it crosses the line to being over packed. In recent times over packaging has emerged as a major contributor in creating pollution and needs to be addressed on urgent basis.

What causes a product to be over packed? Is it the consumer or the producer who wants to sell his product with better packaging? Let’s look at the scenario of customer visiting Mac Donald, even for a small takeaway order of a burger and pepsi, the joint provides three level of packaging and customer expects the same. After consuming his meals, he is bound to throw the packaging material either on the streets thus contributing to litter, or to dustbin, thus unnecessary wastage of material and contribution to garbage.

Another case of excessive packaging is while buying electronic or heavy goods but here both the customer and producers have the necessity to do so. As the products needs to be taken utmost care.

No business would like to spend extra on packaging but due to highly competitive market, producers are forced to so, to provide better service. In some cases this is required but in others both the consumer and producer needs to understand and avoid over packaging as they have moral responsibility to our mother nature. Even in cases where over packaging is necessary, consumers and producers needs to come up with ideas and solution so that it can be reused and recycled.