Do young people today make good use of their leisure time? Or do they spend too much times watching television and playing video games, instead of taking part in more productive activities?

Nowadays, majority of youths spend the most fraction of their time on screens. The wide array of streaming services and unlimited video games, have provided plenty of tempting options for young people to engage with during their free time. However spending too much time on these type of hobbies is not very healthy and productive. Below, I will briefly discuss about the downsides of this issue.

As much as having entertainment is important in our life, it can have negative impacts on our social health, if not done properly. For instance, youths who spend significant time on watching TV or playing games, lose their opportunity to socialize with others. Socializing is a learning skill that should be gained through human interactions which subsequently, helps improving our emotional intelligence. Individuals who spent most of their time isolated will not get the chance to practice these skills thus, end up struggling with their relationships in future.

In addition, engaging with these sedentary hobbies is a big distraction to adequate physical movement which can also cause health-related complications in the person's life. Having adequate muscle movements and doing sports is crucial to maintain one's wellbeing. We all have heard shocking news of teenages who have spent long hours playing video games without noticing the time and ended up in the hospital. Therefore, it is important to set a limit on the time duration that they can be on the TV or computer in a day.

In conclusion, doing sedentary leisure activities can be damaging to the youngster's social and physical health. Youngsters should spend a reasonable time socializing with their friends and family and practicing sports for their wellbeing.