Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that the appearance and rapid development of supermarkets cause local communities to disappear in the future. There are strong arguments both for and against this view but I believe it depends on different reasons.

I totally concur with the idea that supermarkets gain popularity in the purchasing behavior of local consumers. Firstly, supermarkets have a huge amount of commodities for local consumers to choose from. This could be an advantage for them to save their time for shopping. Secondly, this kind of distribution channel helps the local be more likely to approach the high-quality products as supermarkets have more resources to purchase the goods with quality certificates. The Organic label, for example, is more likely to be found in supermarkets rather than wet markets which are frequently located in local areas.

However, I believe that the disappearance of regional communities is not originated from supermarkets. The first prominent justification is that consumers do not have to move to other places due to purchasing behavior. As a matter of fact, supermarkets now appear not only in large cities but also in small provinces. This means that rural residents might access any supermarkets near their place without commuting too far. Moreover, in many cases, there are regional products that have special taste and aroma, and this only occurs in certain territories. As a result, the chances are that the local people will remain to stay there to keep their own secrets no matter where supermarkets are. For instance, Phu Quoc fish sauce, which has a special taste with an authentic flavor extracted from fresh anchovies, creates a traditional handicraft even when Phu Quoc island does not have a lot of modern distributors.

In conclusion, while there are reasons given to justify that supermarkets might not take a toll on the appearance of local communities, I believe this is not an accurate statement under any circumstances.