Each year the crime rate increases What are the causes of crime and what could be done to prevent this rise in criminal activity Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

In the recent years, crime has become an important issue for many countries as it is becoming more violent and increasing day by day. This is mainly because of lack of education and fewer job opportunities for the youth which are correlated. There are various solutions to curb the violence and crime rate.

The problem arises when people are uneducated and they are unable to find work to make a living successfully. They indulge in criminal activities for fulfilling their basic needs such as food, clothing, and shelter. For instance, the crime rate is the highest in the African continent and it is observed that the literacy rate in the region is lowest in the world. Because of lack of education the people are unable to find a job to make a decent living and eventually resort to crime industry.

However, there are two main strategies which the government can adopt to control the crime rate. Firstly, increasing the level of education or giving them vocational training so that they develop skills required for availing a job and secondly creating more and more job opportunities. To exemplify, the Chinese have developed manufacturing industries and created an infrastructure for the entire world to invest and manufacture in china, thereby creating jobs in the country. This pulls the youth towards employment and earning a livelihood legally.

In conclusion, it is necessary to take actions to curtail unlawful and illegal activities by providing better education and creating additional employment sources. This will enable the government to maintain law and order in the country.