The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree ?

Online shopping has certainly led to a shift in the consumer buying behavior. But the day online shopping will completely hijack the traditional shopping experience is far off. Hence, this essay will disagree that the increase in online shopping will lead to the shutting of all shops in towns and cities and discuss two reasons for it.

Inadvertently, a lot of people nowadays prefer purchasing through the various shopping apps that are available. However, there are still some who prefer to buy things the traditional way, that is, through the neighborhood stores. Buying through online websites does not entail the personal interaction and experience that the physical stores offer. Many of these shop owners have painstakingly cultivated a relationship with their customers, this warmth is essentially missing from the online shopping exercise. For example, the mom and pop shop owners are familiar with the neighborhood .

Secondly, a section of consumers want to have a tactile observation of the products before making a buying decision. When purchasing in a small shop, the person makes an informed decision after thoroughly examining the item. This gives an assurance to the buyer that he is paying for what he has bought and he will not get cheated which usually happens in the case of online shopping. For example, online shopping is famous for duping by selling fake products or their products do not match the description in 30% of the cases, confirms a survey done by Harvard Business Review magazine.

To conclude, even though online shopping has grown and will continue to grow, there is enough scope and demand for the shops in the small towns and cities to grow and prosper. This essay discussed that one on one interaction and reliable buying experience are the major reasons due to which offline shops will continue to thrive.