Elderly house

In modern life, a number of elderly people living in elderly-house-care increases significantly. This essay will explain that despite living in nursing house perhaps gives a bad reputation for both the oldfolks themselves and their families, especially their children, it is actually a fascinating choice.

Initially, the biggest disadvantages of it is, it will give a bad reputation for both the oldies and their families. This caused by many Indonesian assumption that leaving parents to live in an nursing home is negative behaviour of the children and the big family in general. In other word, Indonesian people believe that young generation carries an obligation to look after their parents at the time the parents reach an old ages. They also believe that nobody will spend their last peiode of their life in a nursing home deliberetly. For instance, in my hometown, those old-people living in nursing home are judged as unsuccess educator of their children, and marked as being receiving a punishment of that certaint failure. Whilst, their sons or daughters are seen as conducting a huge sin as an unobedient children.

Despite this common opinion, I personally think that spending pension time in a oldfolks home could be an exiting lifestyle and be chose consciusly. Firstly, nursing home assures a basic of daily caring such as food and health. Therefore, the olds could concentrate on several activities enhancing their inner-peace and spirituality. For example, they could conduct a "remembrance forum" (majlis zikir) or "religious learning forum" (majlis taklim) with their peers. Secondly, the nursing home could organize a social activities. For example, the old people could be additional teachers for schools, or even universities. Sharing their experience for the students will make them happy and will enhance their self-esteem, and also benefitting the students.

To sum up, although nursing home residents should cause a kind of negative image, it also could bring an effective style of life for the old people.