Employers should focus on personal qualities over qualifications and experience when choosing someone for a job. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this competitive time, recruiting a suitable employee is the basic need of any living business. Whether personal qualities or qualifications and experience are more important is a debatable question/speculation/hypothesis. For a potential business to evolve, the ideal worker must have both personal and professional qualities.

On the one hand, if any business wants to lead the competitors, personal qualities of an employee are the fundamental requirement. In other words, as today’s world is more about creating innovation and building things that have never been built before, an explorer mindset of the worker is the recipe for success. To take for example Jeff Bezos, who started his own company in the mid-90s with an exceptional mindset and now his discovery “Amazon” is the world’s biggest online shopping/ sales company. Consequently, individual abilities have an imperative role to play in the success of any organization.

On the other hand, while hiring a worker, professional qualities are not a less important factor in any way. To put in simple words, candidates with advanced degrees demonstrate a number of great qualities, aside from the obvious subject matter expertise. These people show critical thinking skills, persistence and a strong drive to succeed. Another key thing to remember is that the relevant knowledge for the particular field is not less than a blessing for a company. For example, staff that has already worked in the sales department can provide immediate benefits in the same department of a different organization.

In conclusion, after analyzing the above-mentioned information it becomes clear that personal as well as professional qualities/attributes/skills should be considered before selecting an employee for the position/role.