Environmental protection is the responsibility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Government plays an essential role in environmental preservation. However, to deal with the serious environmental problems, we should consider the role of politicians and residents.

First and foremost, we have already known that climate change, global warming, or pandemic are posed a significant threat to human life. To tackle each of those problems required efforts and cooperation of politicians and environmental organizations. Government pours much money, time to enhance the habitat for their resident and prevent imminent threats. For example, annually, the US government puts 5% of GDP to improve the healthcare and water sanitation systems- these methods help to deal with water pollution and epidemic prevention. Moreover, these issues relate to the environment are not only the story of one country but also the global story. The need for systematic environmental protection has increased, which means we need the cooperation of every country. The government will be in charge of diplomatic policy to create a strong relationship with other countries to make environmental preservations work effectively.

However, we must consider the role of inhabitants in environmental conservation. It is difficult for the authority to build up the water sanitation system without the help of residents. We could not imagine how hard pandemic prevention could be if each of the citizens is not taken action. Individuals are as crucial as the government in tackling environmental problems. They can variously take environmental protection action without taking them a lot of time or money. For example, to reduce the carbon dioxide level, they need to cut downtime using a motorbike. To mitigate water pollution, they should not allow themselves to dump the garbage on the ground. Small steps will create long-term beneficial effects.

To sum up, we have known the environment is not an easy problem to tackle. In order to make environmental protection work well, we need to have a combination of government and individuals.