Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Other say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language

Learning a foreign language is very useful in life. Many people argue that learning a foreign language helps people who want to travel or work abroad; meanwhile, others said that learning a new language has numerous benefits. This essay will look through two opinions and give my idea.

Nowadays, learning a new language to work and travel in another country seems to be more popular. The international market more develops than ever before. Employers are looking for skilled workers and need employees who have language skills. As a result, people who can learn a foreign language will be more chances to get a job and promotion in the future; luckily, they can build a career in a foreign country. Traveling is another reason which makes adults want to learn a new language. When they come to a new land, if they know the native language in this area, they can easily communicate with a native speaker to exchange money or trading activities.

However, from my perspective, learning a new language is advantageous than working and traveling abroad. First of all, learning a new language is an opportunity to be exposed to a new culture with more social experience and cultural appreciation. For instance, every year, many student and young people search for the intern, exchange programs, or scholarship to study or research in other countries, which help them to broaden their horizon and have a chance to approach new cultural. These experiences could contribute to greater tolerance because of the exposure to a variety of cultures. Secondly, learning a new language encourage creativity. Studying a second language means we must immerse ourselves in a new culture different from our native ones. It is an excellent opportunity for us to have comparisons and detect an exciting point in each culture. It will boost our ability to think differently, creatively. Finally, following some research has said learning a new language improves memory. We are putting much effort into studying new words and grammar that train the brains, which better our memory.

In conclusion, learning a new language is a challenging process, but more pain more gain. Learning a foreign language not only gives you a chance to working or traveling abroad but also good for your memory, creative thinking, and approach new cultural experiences.