Essay 6 Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have To what extent do you agree or disagree

Many people argue that the opportunity to attend tertiary education is equal for every individual and it is advisable for the government to provide free education for all students irrespective of their financial capacity. While this suggestion will be beneficial for students coming from low-income families and the society as a whole, I maintain that it will put a heavier burden on the national budget and negatively affect students' attitudes towards studying.

On the one hand, the idea of supplying free higher education is reasonable to some extent. First and foremost, an exemption to tuition fees means that people from lower socioeconomic backgrounds can have a chance to pursue university. As the price of taking a course at university is relatively costly nowadays, many impoverished students can not afford these costs and they have to drop out of schools to begin their working life. Therefore, with the financial support from the government, these students can continue their studying and secure a number of well-paid jobs after graduating from university. Moreover, at the state level, society will benefit from a higher level of civilized citizens.

On the other hand, there are a number of reasons why the provision of free university’s fees will have a negative influence on the state budget and students’ learning attitude. The first reason is that in order to supply education without charge for every individual, it requires a huge amount of money. As a result, it will put a strain on the national fund and a variety of essential aspects that are in need of government’s investment will be delayed. The second reason involves the degradation in students’ determination towards their studying. This is because it costs students nothing to retake a failed subject at university; they will take it for granted and do not pay attention to academic outcomes.

In conclusion, although the exemption of university learning costs regardless of students’ financial conditions will do wonders for disadvantaged students as well as facilitate a more civilized community, I contend that the problems resulting from this phenomenon should also not be ignored. In my view, it is a better option for the government to have a policy to financially support university students according to their financial circumstances.