Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Globalization has led both negative and positive effect in cultures, languages and business in all over the world. One of these consequences is that a great number of lesser spoken languages are fading because they are no longer used in the context of the modern world. In my opinion, I totally disagree with this point of view.

On the one hand, from business perspective, moving towards a single international language will make easier without a language barrier which help develop international trade and widen diplomatic relationships. English now has become the world’s leading language is indisputable. The potential for misunderstanding and misinterpretation has decline considerably. This extends come to the public general, for example holidays and wider social communication, make all more possible by using a singular language, it promotes development of international tourism.

On the other hand, cultures and traditions born together with languages. Losing one’s national tongue means losing one’s identity. To be more specific, if people use another language to explain and educate for the next generation about their culture and tradition, their decedents will not understand and absorb all the values and importance their culture and tradition. If one’s culture or tradition is fading or losing, it could cause resentment in that country. This could actually leads to diplomatic issues which are precisely what globalization is seeking to minimize.

In conclusion, while I am entirely in favour of singular language push to develop global economy and closer relations among countries in the world. I strongly believe that it is extremely critical that traditional and cultural values need to be reserved. I reaffirm idea that life wold be better if fewer-used languages in the world still in use.