Everyone should stay in school until they reach the age of 18 To what extent do you agree or disagree

Many believe everyone must go to school until the age of eighteen. They claim a kind of compulsory education should apply to all children until the age that they can make decisions on their own according to law.

In my opinion, it is not a bad idea to provide mandatory education for all people to prepare them for playing a better role in their society. However, it has its pros and cons. In this essay, we are trying to examine this idea and its effects on people and society in different aspects.

It is clear that by the development of technologies and applying them in our societies, a minimum amount of education is needed for people to be able to respond to their daily requirements. Assume a person who cannot use the internet and wants to purchases a product that is only available online. Such a person is always seeking help from others to fulfill what other people can do on their own. Therefore, we must appropriately train the next generation to make them ready for at least a normal life based on future perspectives.

It seems governments have to ratify appropriate laws in their parliaments to prevent any person remain without basic education. However, we have to take care of the inconveniences that such rules and regulations can make for members of that society.

First of all, it may happen that a person does not have any interest in math, thus, it is needed to provide a variety of fields after elementary school that students could find their interest among them.

Also, it must not be overlooked that many students need help for finding the right directions according to their abilities and talents.

Second, this mandatory education must be provided for free throughout the countries. Despite it is the need for developing personal skills for a better life in a society, it should not be neglected that many families do not afford the school fees. Therefore, a free mandatory school will be more attractive for poor families.

However, we must notice that in some under developing countries many families count on their children as a source of income and they may prevent their children from going to school. Therefore, having such laws that force families to send their children to school is somehow a need for tackling this issue.

To sum up, having such rules and regulations that force children to go to school by the age of eighteen is not a bad idea, however, governments have to take care of the financial burden that can be imposed on the families.