Extreme sports such as sky diving and skiing are very dangerous and should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

It is true that some kinds of sport such as skydiving and skiing can pose a threat to people’s health; so, some people hold a belief that these sports should be prohibited. Personally, I strongly disagree with this statement due to some following reasons.

Firstly, people are entitled to do whatever they want in a civilized society as long as they do not break the laws of their countries. In fact, citizens would have complete freedom to choose and take part in any sport they are interested in on a daily basis regardless of its danger and level of difficulty. It is ideal for the government to encourage the general public to get involved in sports and exercise to keep fit and stay healthy. As a result, this would lead to an increase in the number of citizens who suffer from health issues such as diabetes and obesity.

Secondly, some people are more likely to regard joining these extreme sports as one of the most effective ways to release all pressure and stresses after a long day at school or workplace. For instance, my little brother who has taken up and participated in skydiving for 3 years confessed he would feel satisfied after joining any session with his peers because free falling from such an enormous altitude allows him to put all problems he encountered in life aside and enjoy his moments only.

Lastly, some people believe that taking part in these dangerous sports would act as the way of challenging and inspiring themselves before pursuing next goals in both their private and professional lives, which could help them get a sense of fulfillment.

In conclusion, it seems to me that there are no convincing reasons to ban these dangerous sports. Instead, the government should launch some nationwide campaigns to raise public awareness of some unexpected circumstances possibly occurring when joining these types of sports.