Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

It is true that companies have prioritized candidates’ degrees over their life experience and personalities during the recruitment process. There are two main reasons for this trend, and in my opinion, its disadvantages considerably outweigh the advantages.

I acknowledge that the option to considering candidates’ academic degrees to be the most essential recruitment criterion is appealing for two major reasons. First, academic qualifications speak a volume of candidates’ knowledge. In fact, when they pursue higher education, they have to study a wide range of academic subjects which provide them with a mountain of understanding about the fields they would work for after graduation. Second, in some specialized jobs such as teachers, or doctors, academic qualifications are reliable evidence to showcase a major-related grasp of candidates. In other words, they are skillfully and carefully trained to prepare for their career prospects when they are still at university or institutions.

Personally, I hold a strong belief that this trend is completely negative. One of the most significant disadvantages is that companies are more likely to miss qualified candidates if they put too much focus on formal education background. More noticeably, life experience and characteristics would play an important role in dealing with unexpected situations such as handling customers’ complaints. Another disadvantage to consider is some qualification-related issues such as fake bachelor’s degrees would gain increasing popularity in the job-hunting market. Some candidates would buy degrees illegally to be qualified for vacancies and pass the CV testing round.

To conclude, in my view, although possessing a degree is of great importance, I do not think selecting candidates should hugely depend on this recruitment requirement.