Families who do not send their children to government-financed schools should not be required to pay taxes that support universal education.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Should you pay taxes that support universal education? This is a debatable topic. Many affluent families send their children to private schools for better facilities and teaching methods that enable a holistic development of a child. This trend has a sever impact on the working class families that aspire to provide the best for their wards. Many individuals pay taxes to support universal education that their children do not avail.

Undoubtedly, the quality of education that children receive in government run schools is deplorable. Firstly, the lack of funds towards facilities. For example, in a country like India many schools do not have the basic amenities such as a library, a play ground, and classroom. The money allocated is insufficient to build a good infrastructure. Secondly, inadequate training for the teachers. For example,teachers need to adopt a innovative and creative approach to make learning a beautiful experience for children.

Interestingly, despite the high tuition fee in private schools, parents are willing to admit their wards to such institutions. Firstly, the non-refundable admission fee that these institute charge. For example, the National School diverts the money received as one time admission fee towards uplifting the school building and maintenance. Secondly, the tuition fee that is collected is invested in can be invested in adopting innovate teaching methods.surplus cash flow. For example, the Klay School conducts a mandatory training for teachers to help children with special learning needs.

In conclusion, although the quality of education in private institutes are better, the lack of funds is the reason for the inefficiency in running a government school. Hence, taxes that support universal education is very crucial for a developing country like India where many people are impoverished. In my opinion, you must pay taxes only for the services that you would avail.