Governments and big companies should work together to reverse environmental damage, rather than making individuals responsible for that. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your opinion and relevant examples.

The primary beneficiaries of the natural resources of a country are the governments and large corporations. Some say that individuals may not be able to restore the balance in the environment. As responsible human being who inhabit this beautiful planet it is collectively everyone's duty to safe guard the planet. However, in my opinion policy makers and large scale industries have a major role to play in creating an equilibrium.

Unequivocally, the detrimental effects of large scale mining in the land, and oil refineries in the seas are known to all. Every single talk in the recent World Economic Forum emphasized the need for urgent actions from all the nations to cut down the emission of carbon. For example, even a developing nation like India was able to increase the forest cover by over ten percent in just three years. Afforestation, recycling initiatives, and ban on plastic has contributed in increasing the number of trees. In addition, levying heavy taxes on precious metals such as titanium and platinum has curtailed their demand and thus less impact on mining.

Interestingly, many individuals are making changes in their life style and opting for a eco friendly mode of transport. For example, the number of commuters using smart bike has increased drastically over the last two years. In addition to being economical, these bikes are helping commuters maintain a healthy life style. However, to promote cycling to commute to work the government has to make special tracks in the roads for cycles. On the other hand companies need to provide parking spaces, shower rooms, and locker facilities to employees who cycle to work.

In conclusion, although individuals collectively can build a greener planet, I think law makers and corporate have a larger role to play in facilitating such efforts.