Today, more and more students decide to move to a different country for higher studies.Do you think that the benefits of this outweighs the problems?

ncreasing more number of students are opting for a tertiary education in foreign countries. While some say that has an adverse effect on the economy of a nation, some insist that exposure to different cultures in crucial for a global economy. In this essay we will discuss some positive ad negative aspects of this trend.

Undoubtedly, exposure to diverse cultures and varied methods of education equips the students with necessary skills to build a successful career. For example, if you are aware of the norms of a work culture in a different country, then you will be able to blend in and perform well. In addition, the language skills that one acquires helps in communicating effectively. For example, if you are able to communicate in French, then you will be able to create an impressive sales proposal for a client in France.

However, there are some flip sides to studying in universities abroad. Firstly, it is expensive, considering the steep difference in the conversion rates of the currencies in developed countries. Students and families who avail education loans are indebted to the financial institutes. Colossal portion of their earnings go towards loan repayments after they secure a job. Secondly, it cripples the tertiary education system in their native country. Many universities in their home country are deprived of an opportunity to scale up if this trend continues. For example, in a country like India, the number of foreign students enrollment is a dismissal four percent.

In conclusion, although there are some hurdles for students to study abroad, in a long run it does provide them a competitive advantage in their career. Conversely, adversely impacts the education system in many developing countries. I think, in many ways the benefits of a diverse and state of art education is more significant than the drawbacks.