Fewer and fewer people walk on a daily basis What are the reasons and how toencourage them to spend their time walking

The number of people going for a walk daily has been diminishing steadily. Several accompanying reasons for this trend are determined and worth considering to come up with viable solutions which jeopardise its development and to stimulate more and more people walking.

People might feel demotivated to walk stems from two prominent reasons. Firstly, it is argued that people have plenty of work to do at the workplace which prevents them from having some spare moment. The only free-from-work period of time they have is night which is packed with dozens of personal routines so it is hardly surprising that walking is not their best choice. Secondly, many people consider walking as a tedious leisure activity. Other forms of recreation are favoured such as gym, fishing and so forth due to its evident results and benefits that justify taking up them while walking is just a bland exercise and is nothing but a waste of time.

Having seen such reasons, individuals and the government should try to promote walking by adopting some feasible approaches. Raising awareness about walking is one of the best options. For example, the authorities could conduct a workshop indicating some concerning health issues of a sedentary lifestyle and how they could be addressed by walking. Besides, some forms of incentives is a good idea for encouraging walking. To get the attention of people in walking, several sorts of marathons contests should be carried out, appealing to people by some prizes.

To sum up, while the reasons for walking issues are clearly seen, a promotion of walking should be made by some kinds of competitions coupled with a deep understanding of the benefits that walking could bring.