Fossil fuel is the main source of energy In some countries the use of alternative sources of energy is encouraged To what extent do you think it is a positive or negative development

There appears a fact that several countries are setting their sights on more sustainable sources of energy, unlike other nations who are burning coal, oil and natural gas as the main fuels. Although some detriments seem to remain, I believe that this tendency is more of a positive change.

On the one hand, I accept that countries pursuing alternative energy sources may encounter a few constraints at first. Given that fossil fuels are naturally available, exploiting these resources is much more accessible and lucrative. In contrary, seeking new sources of energy is more costly since countries would have to develop technologies along with investing in installing equipment to harness such that energy. For example, wind turbines or solar cell panels are all of prohibitively expensive that hinder any nations dreaming of renewable energy. Moreover, the existing technology to yield energy from sunlight is working inefficiently, as low as 1% of the solar energy transformed into electricity. In another word, attempts to use alternative resources may initially spell troubles since countries have to deal with the dearth of energy.

However, I would convince that switching from fossil fuels to renewable energy can result in an optimistic outlook. Beyond the arduous initiatives, these nations gain access to sustainable sources of energy, which ensures the future demand for electricity. Meanwhile, coal, oil and natural gas are exhaustible and being reported depleting swiftly; hence, fossil fuel-dependent countries may eventually turn to the inevitable decision of the greener resources or would not otherwise end up energy-deficient. More importantly, alternative energy is eco-friendly since the harnessing processes scarcely emit greenhouse gases, which are produced tremendously when burning fossil substances.

In conclusion, while there remain several obstacles that nations using alternative energy have to manage, I maintain that they are embarking an advantageous development.