Nowadays there is a trend that reports of media focus on problems and emergencies rather than positive development Some people think it is harmful to individuals and to society To what extent do you agree or disagree

There emerges a tendency that media reporting set primarily its sights on anarchy and emergencies without mentioning social improvements. From my perspective, I agree that this trend may spell trouble for every citizen as well as society.

On the one hand, it is indisputable that that media's preference can bear a few positive effects on individuals and society. Individuals who informed about instabilities and emergencies may be more proactive and facilitated to safeguard themselves from those problems. For example, bombarded with news regarding infectious outbreaks on the media, people are prompted to protect their health by refraining from going to crowds. Moreover, the pressure derived from media reports, coupled with the concerns of society about social problems, draw the government’s attention and coerces the government to take actions to address those conditions. Hence, this inclination of news reporting, to some extent, can be acceleration for stabilising society.

However, only turmoil makes front-page headlines without reporting social advancement would be rather destructive. Any Individual living in a society that is full of crisis and instabilities would certainly be frightened, discouraged and even aimless in life. Indeed, people find no motivation to study or work if they are unceasingly informed that they are not protected from terrorists, natural crisis or economic downturns. Furthermore, broadcasting too much about criminals and anarchy may unconsciously, but potentially, spur violence and social disorders, which may ruin the social fabric. Finally, administrative bodies, like authority, medical and security system, appear to be demotivated since their efforts are not appreciated and praised, thus eventually exacerbate the problems.

In conclusion, while media has crucial roles in helping individuals and society to be informed and prepared with negative developments, I would argue that pay too much attention on that without looking into bright sides is rather detrimental.