1 More and more people want to buy famous brands with clothes car and other items What are the reasons Do you think it is a positive or negative development

There emerge a tendency that a growing number of people nowadays choose products, such as clothes and cars, from famous symbols. The causes of this phenomenon are numerous, as I will mention below, and from my point of view, that is rather a negative trend.

Among various reasons which drive people to buy goods produced by highly-acclaimed brands, the two main ones can be named. First, approaching from a market perspective, it can now witness an increasing disparity of targeting and competitive capability between more and less well-known companies. To illustrate, famous brands with more financial power can afford large marketing and advertising campaigns and, therefore, endorse their product images to a bigger customer set. Secondly, it is the apparent aspect, instead of the utilizing value of the products that consumers have been now drawing too much attention to. This results from a common belief that using legendary brands is in line with the sign of affluence and status, which eventually helps the users to be taken seriously.

In my opinion, this trend has somewhat more adverse effects on both individuals and the market. Consumers are among the first subjects affected because famous-brand favoring perpetuates a materialistic society. If people incline to buy clothes from fashion giants, Dior and Gucci for example, others may be prompted to adopt phenomenal products, provided that no one wants to be inferior in a luxury society. Being part of this tendency, those who are less wealthy may suffer the most. Moreover, the more popularity a few well-known brands become the more probability that smaller companies run into bankruptcy as they fail to sell their products and extend their market. In consequence, the market becomes more monopolistic and thus forces consumers to pay more for their needs.

In conclusion, the discrepancy in the competitive ability and the trending desire to show the respect prompt people to select branded products, and it seems to me that this trend is a negative development.