An increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage of our natural environment What are the causes and solutions

There arises a concern about the ever increased production of goods, which spells disastrous effects on natural ecology. This essay will discuss several reasons for that tendency before proposing a few potential solutions.

The leading reason for the rise in goods manufacturing lies in the growing needs of consumers. Indeed, people nowadays live in a consumerism society that the buying habit has changed radically compared to the past – they scarcely scrutinise their financial decisions. Moreover, products’ life spans have been being shortened since consumers incline to discharge their least old belongings and buy the new alternatives. Secondly, the lowered prices of products, due to the mass production that over-exploits natural resources, are prompting people to buy more and think less. Interweaving together, the two causes generate a massive amount of perilous waste and hence, have adverse effects on the environment.

In light of the causes mentioned above, several measures should be undertaken to ease the dire ecological implications. First, the government should levy heavy taxes on production fields that entail environmentally unsustainable processes, which use large amounts of fossil fuel and emit green-house gases. Being taxed heavily, manufacturers may increase the prices of their products, thus avert consumers from buying unconsciously. Besides, officials and activists should also raise the public’s awareness of the consumerism’s damaging consequences. Finally, consumers whose goods, clothes and household appliances, for instance, seem somewhat old should give them to the poor who are in need.

In conclusion, that is the consumerism behaviour and uncontrolled production that pose detriments to the environment, and government, on top of consumers should take joint efforts to alleviate the damaging consequences.