Fossil fuel is the main source of energy. In some countries, the use of alternative sources of energy is encouraged. Is this a positive or negative development ?

Industrialization has shaped our recent world. Although it brings a lot of benefits to humanity, its reliance on fossil fuel as a primary supplement takes a toll on the environment. Thus, some countries have begun using renewable energy. While this measure is not entirely ideal, I believe this phenomenon is a positive development.

On the one hand, the advantages of green energy are still called into question. Firstly, it is prohibitively expensive to install the infrastructures to exploit these new energy sources, which means it can be out of reach for some remote areas. Secondly, the use of renewable energy is not the ultimate remedy to perennial environmental issues. For example, solar panels can seriously damage nature when disposed of, let alone the carbon footprint they left through the manufacturing process. Hence, the appropriate use of fossil fuels is still the most feasible solution to tackle the environmental problems.

On the other hand, I believe that the benefits of sustainable energy sources surpass their drawbacks. First, renewable energies like wind, solar, hydro powers are more eco-friendly as they release little or almost no emissions into nature. Since these greenhouse gases are the blame for global warming, cutting on these gases can slow down the warming process. Second, most of the alternative energies are ubiquitous and can be replenished. They are our natural factors such as sunlight and wind, so they never exhaust and can be easier to be extracted as they do not need exploiting from the somewhere deep ocean floor like oil.

In conclusion, while some aspects of renewable powers are left to be desired, I think that their pros outweigh their cons.