Fossil fuel is the main source of energy. In some countries, the use of alternative sources of energy is encouraged. Is this a positive or negative development ?

The industrialization has shaped our recent world. Although it brings lot of benefits to humanity, its reliance on fossil fuel as primary suppliment takes a toll on the environment. To solve this issue, some countries begin using renewable energy. While this measure is not completely ideal, I believe this phenenomenon is a positive development.

On the one hand, the advantages of green energy over are still called into question. Firstly, it is prohibitively expensive to install the infrastructures to exploit these new sources of energy, which means it can be out of reach for some remote areas. Secondly, the use of renewable energy is not the ultimate remedy to perennial environmental issues. For example, the solar panels can seriously damage the nature when they are disposed, let alone the carbon footprint they left through manufacturing process. Hence, the suitable use of fossil fuels is still the most feasible solution to tackle the environmental problems.

On the other hand, I believe that the benefits of sustainable energy sources surpass their drawbacks. First, renewable energies like wind, solar, hydro powers are more eco-friendly as they release little or almost no emissions into the nature. Since these green-house gases is the blame for the global warming, cutting on these gases can slow down the warming process. Second, most of the alternative energies are ubiquitous and can be replenished. They are our natural factors such as sunlight and wind, so they never exhaust and can be easier to be extracted as they do not need exploiting from somewhere deep ocean floor like oil.

In conclusion, while some aspect of renewable powers are left to be desired, I think that their pros outweigh their cons.