Fossil fuels(e.g. coal, oil, natural gas) are the main sources of energy in many countries, but in some countries the use of alternative sources of energy is encouraged. Is it a positive or negative effect?

Nowadays, many hold the view that using alternative energy is beneficial to the society, whereas there is a body of view holding that this alternative energy does harm to the public. I will examine both sides of the debate to seek a conclusion.

To begin with, it is undeniable that using alternative resource may reduce some environmental pollution, since the replacement of the traditional fuels could decrease the greenhouse gas emissions in the air like carbon dioxide and sulfur dioxide, two main factors of global warming. In addition, using the alternative resource helps to alleviate energy crisis, for the new energy is renewable and gives the conventional fuels chances to be preserved to be standby energy.

On the other hand, however, alternative resource is low efficient, as the modern technology is not advanced enough to completely exploit the new resource and put it into use in industrial activities with high efficiency. Furthermore, using the new energy source is normally expensive.

The reason is that the machine powered by the alternative energy source is always specially made, which means that the raw material of the device is rare and costs factories a fortune to collect.

To sum up, there is no doubt that the new resource is beneficial to improving the quality of the air and helps to solve the problem of energy crisis. At the same time, however, alternative resource is low efficient and commonly costs the civilians a fortune to use. In the final analysis, therefore, one can safely conclude that using the alternative resource influences the society positively.