The free movement of goods across national borders has long been a controversial issue Some people argue that it is necessary for economic growth while others claim that it damages local industries Discuss both views and give your own opinion You should w

Over the last two decades there has been massive rise in international trade across the national borders which has become a debatable issue. While, some people argue that it beneficial for country's economy, others claim that it prevent local industries to flourish. In this essay I will discuss both the issue and present my opinion.

The proponents of global trade insists that free movement of goods can ensure the transparency of prices across the continent and there can be more consumer choice. The free trade can facilitate open markets, which can be ultimate social enterprise and major tool for tackling unemployment. The open markets can bring more potential consumers for business. It will also encourage mutual recognition-harmonised standards. As a result, each country produces something valuable, and sales it in every counties contributing to the world economy. For example, Apple products manufactured in USA, reaches to every corner of the world, collecting millions of revenues, thus contributing to the world economy. Dependence on the global trade helps to strengthen international cooperation and prevents war.

While , the opponents persists on the closure of the international free trade as it is threat to local business. When exporting becomes cheaper than producing the goods domestically, more jobs are lost, which can cause damage to local communities. There is a danger of inevitable competition, there monopolies can dominate. The economies may shrink and will be extremely difficult to regulate. The vast distance travelled by food, oil, and other products is harming the environment, thus make life unsustainable. And hence, Protectionists are in tight favour of free movement of trade internationally.

In conclusion, where there are convincing arguments on both sides of the debate, I strongly agree with the proponents of the global trade. It is not realistic for a country to use their source of energy, food, and manufactured goods within them. Global grade should not be restricted by any means.