Is freedom of speech necessary in a free society?

There has been considerable debate about the freedom of speech in a free society. Some people believe that it has to be limited due to the anxiety about harming others by speaking. In others’ views, free speech is crucial because the tolerance to different views is the hallmark of a society. In my opinion, the freedom of speech is undoubtedly necessary but it needs to have its own limitation.

On the one hand, free speech is essential as each person has their own views. If they are not allowed to speak freely, they will feel like being disrespected and choose to take action instead. The fall of communist regimes of Eastern Europe in the 1980s is a big example to prove how obligatory is the freedom of speech. Looking at history, there are plenty of examples of people who have been silenced for ideas that they are now accepted as true. Galileo, who said that the earth revolves around the sun, was punished by the authorities because of his views.

On the other hand, free speech does not mean we can say anything we want if we do not have evidences. There are some people who cannot control what they speak to someone. As they are often of the opinion that their speech is not harm to said person, they could speak anything they want, especially on Internet. In recent years, there have been a great number of suicides due to negative speech which some people call “free speech”. Sulli, a Korean singer, who committed suicide after having born with offensive words to her life from netizens on Instagram. Sadly, no one had to take responsibility for her death although they directly caused it.

To summarize, I believe that free speech is undoubtedly necessary in a free society because everyone has rights to speak their own views. Otherwise, the freedom of speech should be limited to lessen consequences from unfounded and offensive words.