To some people studying the past has little value in the modern world. Why do you think it is important to do so? What will be the effect if children are not taught history?

It is believed by a number of people that history brings no relevant values to the present or future. However, I am firm of the opinion that it is essential to learn about the past. Furthermore, if kids are not taught it, there will be many unpredictable effects.

On the one hand, history is the subject that requires us to differentiate right and wrong so that it gives us chance to improve ourselves in the future. If people do not learn history, they will not know how to cherish their country, their culture, eventually the whole world. By learning the past, individuals, especially children can be built a soul of national self-respect. Moreover, through history learning, they can develop the power of analysis, such as analysing the consequences of the war to the development of the nation.

On the contrary, children who are not taught history will have no idea how to build their country. For example, when a child grows up without learning history, he/she may not realize the need of the nation or will not be able to make the right decision, eventually want to overthrow the government. In addition, children without the knowledge of historical perspective may have a tendency to make a lack of contribution to their homeland. Accordingly, a Vietnamese student who studies abroad for a long time will never come back to Vietnam, regardless of any conditions.

In conclusion, based on the aforementioned reasons, learning a country’s past is crucial to any citizens, especially to children who are responsible for a better future of a state.