Fresh water has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem.

What are the causes of the increased demand and what measure could governments and individuals take to respond to this problem?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Since time immemorial, in certain drier parts of the world, fresh water has always been a scarce natural resource. However, in the present time, due to various reasons, scarcity of fresh water has become a global issue. This essay will illustrate some factors contributing to this problem and will also elicit certain steps that can help the national authorities and people in controlling this growing demand for natural salt free water.

Firstly, population explosion is the reason of utmost importance, which has led to the global surge in potable water need. Secondly, increased pollution of natural fresh water reserves due to urbanisation and industrialization has compounded this demand. Furthermore, in modern times, the growing use of salt free water for activities like recreational swimming, have also catalysed the surge in global water demand.

National authorities, however, can control this surge by implementing public education schemes about controlled water usage. Strict national legislations for preventing natural fresh water reserve pollution are also required. Moreover, government should also enact infrastructures for purification of seawater into saline free water, which will help in meeting the growing need of fresh water.

Similarly, public can also give towards this noble cause by conserving water and by limiting their daily household water usage. They should refrain themselves from performing activities that will pollute natural fresh water reserves.

Thus even though, the scarcity of fresh water is a growing global problem, there are various means and methods available, by which both the government and people can prevent this from worsening.