In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the current era, technology is advancing at breakneck speed with a lot of innovations. Nowadays people have started reading newspapers or books online without paying at all or at a very nominal charge. In my opinion, this trend would continue and in the future almost nobody would buy newspapers or books which are printed, rather they would use the internet to read it online.

Firstly printed newspapers would definitely be out of the market as a lot of young people prefer reading it on the go on their mobiles. Even today, I myself, read local or national news on my mobile either internet. The reason as to why newspapers would be read online is that, life has become a lot more hectic and fast as compared to earlier times. People often don't find time for themselves let alone finding the time to get a printed newspaper and read it. It is easier to learn about news while they are commuting to work on their mobiles phones. Moving ahead to books, I believe that the quantity of people buyng printed books would definitely reduce but won't necessarily vanish. I have many friends who do like to read books on their electonic devices but they do talk about the satisfaction of having the hardcopy of the book. Some books are soo good that they feel the book should be preserved in the form of printed books.

Secondly, the problem with having printed material is the portability. Carrying around the newspaper along with you the entire day is a bit irritating as the person needs to remind himself that he is carrying an extra object. The size of the newspaper makes it a lot more tedious to carry around. Books on the other hand are compact and easy to carry, but they have the weight issue. One cannot carry around a lot of books simulataneoulsy as they do add up to a significant amount of weight. For example, recently one of my friends had to take a flight to his hometown. The point to be noted is that he wa shifting back to his hometown after completing his college and flights do have a weight limit. His books alone had a weight of whopping 10 kgs which is almost the allowed limit on the flight. He had to let go of some books and some other items. If only these books were in digital format he wouldn't have to worry about crossing the weight limit.

To sum up, I would say that people in the future would definitely switch over to digital copy of newspapers and books although it cannot be that there is absolutely no printed media.