In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There are some opinions that in years to come, there would be no demand for paper-based newspapers and books and people would have read every documents online without any fee. Although this can be true to a certain extent, I would argue that this would not be the case.

On the one hand, it is justifiable why some individuals believe in the aforementioned prospect. The advent of the Internet in these recent years has made e-books and online newspapers more popular among citizens. This phenomenon, combined with the advancement in technology which could be made in the future, would guarantee individuals with a wide choice of books and newspapers online. In addition, reading online may require no payment because the absence of the printing process enables posting online documents to be cost-free.

On the other hand, I believe that the future of reading would not be as described. Printed books and newspapers would remain in demand because they are more beneficial for readers' health when compared to computer-based ones. In order to read online, readers have to spend long hours in front of the screens, which would be harmful to their well-being. In that case, traditional reading proves to be a better choice. Moreover, as the demand for online documents increases, manufacturers will see the potential profit they could make from books and newspapers online, thus charging users a fee to access these documents. Take the New York Times for an instance, this online newspaper requires people to pay before allowing them to read the news comfortably.

In conclusion, though some people believe in the existence of demand for traditional books and newspapers and the possibility to read online free in the future, I would contend that this prospect would not happen in the following years.