To meet the growing needs of food for the increasing population, country should make use of edible insects as foods. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but also affect negatively the nature too. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects?

Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the present scenario when the global population is increasing drastically, the food supply has been one of the greatest issues confronting the governments. In that light, there have been some suggestions that insects can be used as food. While some people consent with this idea, others oppose this because of the disadvantages insects may bring about. However, eating insects have both merits and demerits.

On the one hand, it is understandable that this practice can yield benefits. These days, states have the tendency to shift attention from developing agriculture to expanding industry and boosting technology, resulting in the scarcity of food among the population. To deal with this issue, eating insects seems to be reasonable as these food are usually available in a large number. With these new dishes invented, the hunger among citizens in some cities may be addressed successfully.

On the other hand, eating insects may have some drawbacks. Some people claim that this food can be unhygienic as insects are usually found in dirty and damp places, thus, may contain bacteria and viruses causing diseases for users. Moreover, consuming insects may have negative repercussions on nature. Humans feeding on insects can not only upset the natural food chain but also drives species eating this food to the verge of starvation. Therefore, it is justifiable that consuming insects can have negative impacts on both humans and nature.

In conclusion, though turning insects into new dishes can help meet the increasing demand for food among the global population, it can also cause diseases for humans and disturb nature.