To meet the growing needs of food for the increasing population, country should make use of edible insects as foods. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but affect negatively the nature too. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects?

There has been a colossal upsurge in discussing whether or not using insect products to meet the global food demand for dealing with the overpopulation. This trend has its own pros and cons. Both sides of this debate will be analyzed in this essay before a reasonable and rational conclusion is reached.

On the one hand, starving and lacking of food to meet the global demand are becoming the alarming problem. Taking advantage of insect products not only help us tackle this popularizing issue but also diminish the constraint of food shortage. Firstly, making use of edible insects as foods can encourage people to create a variety of food and mitigate the starving matter. Secondly, people across the globe are not strictly dependent on the industrial poultry such as chickens, ducks, pigs,... Thirdly, there is anecdotal evidence that eating insects can bring harm to the consumer. Perhaps the best example of this trend would be Mexico and Thailand. Both nations have many foods made from insects which are consumed daily by resident and tourist. It is so evident that edible insects are not dangerous to human or even make the food culture become more diverse.

On the other hand, it is seem that some people veto this trend and assume that consuming insects can affect negatively the nature or even cause harm to our health. In some Western countries, turning insects into food are seen to be inhuman and abominable. Moreover, the process of produce dishes form insects require many skills and patient because some insects have their own poison and their hazardous appearance. Furthermore, nothing can tackle the overpopulation demand if we don't preserve it. People may become more and more inhuman if we eat all creatures living in the Earth. Undoubtedly, if the insects run out of the biodiversity, it can damage the nature and destroy its intrinsic balance. We are human and we need to have our selected choice of food to make sure that both nature and us are better-off.

To recapitulate, everything attaches with two points: one affirmative and one negative. It all come downs that consuming insects products or not is based on the perception and culture of person. It is seemed that the cutting-edge technology nowadays can create food with some chemical material in order to meet the food demand.