To meet the growing needs of food for the increasing population, country should make use of edible insects as foods. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but affect negatively the nature too. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

As the global village continues to grow, it is becoming a challenge to meet the rising demands of food, and countries are considering on consuming edible insects. While some people oppose the notion on the basis of health aspect, others are supportive of the idea. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of eating insects.

To begin with, there are some benefits of feeding on insects. The demand on certain food items such as beef, pork and chicken will decline as there will be several other options to choose from, especially for people who are non-vegetarians. Some nations do not have the environment to grow a variety of crops and therefore have to depend on other nations.

However, there are several drawbacks to the notion. Firstly, insects are a vital part of the environment which helps to breakdown wastes thereby adding more nutrition to the soil and clearing the space for the growth of new vegetation. Therefore, feeding on these will not only reduce their number in the nature but the environment and the people will also be negatively impacted. Secondly, as they are tiny organisms it would be impossible to clean them completely of the germs in their gut which will eventually become a cause of contracting various diseases, which could be dangerous for humans in the long run.

To sum up, I would like to reiterate that although there is a growing demand of food, insects are not a feasible option due to the possible health hazards.