Some people say that the experiences a child has before starting school have the most influence on their future life. Others say that experiences as a teenager, especially at school, are more influential. Discuss both views and give your own opinion?

People learn a number of valuable things at various stages of their lives, right from their infancy period. While some people are of the opinion that a child’s experience during his initial stages of life is more influential, others opine that influence is profound during teenage years. This essays aims to discuss both viewpoints before giving a personal opinion.

On the one hand, the experiences gathered in the infancy period of a child are extremely crucial and has a number of impacts. As the child begins to develop an understanding of their surrounding, every tiny piece of information is absorbed and retained by them, like a sponge soaking up water which reflects in their character in the later stages of their lives. For instance, if a child is taught to fear darkness, they subconsciously avoid dark places even after they are fully grown adults.

On the other hand, the lessons attained as a teenager also has an impact which they can refer to as valuable lessons in the future. Social norms like friendship, discipline, respecting the adults and many others values are all learned and interpreted in their teenage years. They experience freedom and new sense of purpose which they eagerly experiment with and gradually experience the pros and cons of their choices, which adds further to the range of knowledge gained for the future. For example, they set off on adventures that were forbidden to them to experience the thrill and the dangers they face teach them how to protect themselves.

To conclude, although children gain much information during their youth which might influence them but the things learned before being exposed to world have an equal influence and it subconsciously reflects in their character as they grow up. Hence, I believe that experiences as both a toddler and as teenager is very crucial for the future of a child.