Some people think governments should spend money on measures to save languages with few speakers from dying out completely. Others think this is a waste of financial resources. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Languages are a significant part of a nation which not only serves as a medium to communicate but is also the basis of many local traditions. While some people support that the authorities should take some measures to protect the languages by allocating financial resources, other oppose the notion on the basis that it can be put to better use. This essay will discuss both the viewpoints before finally giving a personal opinion.

To begin with, languages should be protected for a number of reasons. Language are a vital part of the culture, without which the history of a nation would be lost. Several traditions and forms of art based on would not have the same beauty in any other language as it reflects in their original form. For example, the folklore sung in Bengali language conveys the struggles of our forefathers who fought for the language. This would not appear as melodious in English compared to when sung in the native language. Therefore, government should invest a certain amount of fund to protect the language.

However, most peoplebelieve that the financial resources can be used in many other sectors rather than wasting them in saving dialects. It is prevalent that there are many social issues that the government must address in order to eradicate them. For instance, more schools are need for the growing number of students, the potholes in the roads must be mended for comfortable conveyance, strict measures must be taken against growing crimes like domestic violence and murder etc. This will contribute to the development and growth of the society.

To recapitulate, although it is essential to address the various issues of the society to improve their standard of living, protecting the language is equally essential to maintain the ethnicity of the nations culture. Hence, I believe government must allocate funds in a certain ratio that help resolve both issues.