In recent years, the structure of a family and the role of its members are gradually changing. What kinds of changes can occur? Do you think these changes are positive and negative?

Recently, the world has witnessed some gradual changes in the family pattern and the role of its members, especially the parents. From my point of view, these shifts can yield tangible benefits, thus can be considered as positive trends.

Some significant changes can be observed in families today. The first one is the decreased size of families in many countries. People nowadays have the tendency to live in nuclear families with only parents and children rather than in extended ones. Another shift is the change in the roles of parents in a family. In the past, a household used to rely solely on one breadwinner, who was often the father. However, these days, both parents can pursue their own careers, thus having the same role in a family. Accordingly, the financial responsibility and household duties are shared equally by the two partners.

I would reckon that these changes can be seen as positive developments in modern society. The prevalence of nuclear families can yield tangible benefits as it can not only allow people to have more freedom and privacy in their family but also give parents more chances to care for their children properly. Similarly, the change in the roles of parents can also be recognised as beneficial because partners can share the responsibilities and burdens, thus leading to a happier family. As both parents have equal working opportunities, men can be freed from the pressure of being the only financial support while women can enjoy financial freedom. Moreover, this trend could help ensure the financial stability of the family.

In conclusion, I would contend that the trend towards shifting to smaller family sizes and sharing equal responsibilities between two parents in the present households can be seen as a positive development due to the advantages they yield.