In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The Internet has played a crucial role in our society for the last decade. As a result, more and more people prefer reading online to original ways, leading many individuals to believe in the neglect of people in newspapers and books in the future. Although this may happen, I think that books and newspapers will still be prioritized by many people.

On the one hand, it is possible that printed newspapers and other sources of paper-based reading can be replaced by online ones. Life tends to be more sophisticated and hectic that many individuals have inadequate time to purchase a book, which causes them to prefer reading the free and available online one. Furthermore, the mobility and convenience of online news allow people to read at any time and places that they want to as they can sit in a bus having a click on a button on their mobile phone to keep updated with the imperative information. Therefore, less people would purchase paper-based books and newspapers causing the elimination of them in the future.

On the other hand, there is ample evidence to claim that many readers find paper-based reading sources indispensable, which means that they cannot be replaced. Indeed, there are a flood of people having a hobby of selecting books and newspapers that we can claim that they will still be purchased in the future In addition, printed newspapers and books are not as detrimental to people’s eyes as online ones because looking at the screen for such a long time can bring them serious myopia and other eye’s problems, which leads people to avoid reading online. Additionally, there are many readers enjoying reading paper-based books since it provides them the sense of relaxation and comfort that reading online cannot. “Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone” is a prime example as there is a huge amount of this book published and sold every year.

In conclusion, although people nowadays are inclined to read things online due to the convenience that it provides, I hold a firm belief that printed newspapers and books are irreplaceable.