In the future nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

There are millions of reading materials digitalized online nowadays. It is forseeable the digital books and newspapers will be in a predominent position in the future. However, I do not fully agree that nobody will read printed materials which will be completely replaced with the digital ones for free. I will elaborate on my views as follows.

For one thing, the trend of digitalizing will prosper and dominate the future reading world. As the digital materials are easier to be stored online and more accessible to people. Even if one who is handicaped with the eyes, the computer can read for him/her. Especcially by the developments of hand-held devices like iPads, more and more readers will be in fond of this new way of reading.

Moreover, people can view rare books not only from Libraries but also from Museums. Nowadays it is impossible for us to read the books exhibited in the museums page by page since we are not allowed to touch them, let alone take notes. The digital versions, however, can be read by all of us and we can make notes if we read them on hand-held devices. This advantage will attract more people to read compared with the untouchable books.

The last but not least, the printed materials will not step down the history stage. The printed books will stay since there are still some people would like to read in papers instead of in front of screens. Also, the paper ones are good for our eyes.

In all, the digital materials will be the major source for us to read in the future as my concern, but it does not mean there will be no printed materials.