In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some believe that newspapers and books in printed form will become obsolete as people will be able to read all that they desire, free of charge, on the internet. I totally disagree because there will always be people that will buy printed material because of the aesthetic appeal of it and due to its collectability.

The main reason why I disagree is because there seems to be a large segment of society that prefers printed materials over online ones. The main reason for this appears to be that there is some sort of aesthetic appeal to actually holding printed material in your hands when reading. For instance, many people find it easier to read words off a page instead of a screen.

Another point supporting my view is that printed material will always be purchased because of its popularity with collectors. We can often see bookcases full of books when we enter someone’s home as they are an artifact just like a painting on a wall. Moreover, there are organizations, such as libraries, that serve to collect books and newspapers as a form of public archives.

In conclusion, I am in complete disagreement that there will ever be a time when people no longer buy books or papers. This is because I believe there will always be people willing to buy printed material due to its physical appeal and there will always be public organizations that archive it as a form of public recordkeeping. Given this situation, it seems that printed materials will always be available.