In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people.

Why might this be the case?

Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

Buying a residential property or renting depends on individual mindset. Both the sides have pros and cons and therefore, people should use their discretion. Now I would like to discuss everything in detail.

Why people purchase a house or place to live that relies on multiple socio-economic factors. First and foremost, a house can provide privacy for the person and the family. As an owner, one is the all in making the decision on who is going to live in that house with them or not whereas in renting such flexibility may not be possible. For example, in a rented house you may need special permission to host your friends for few days which violates privacy, on the other hand, if you are the owner, there is no such rule. Moreover, people buy houses to build assets. Because in rent, you pay everything to the owner, but when you own your house, whatever you pay in repayment actually reduces your debt and finally you would own the house which has financial value. By doing so, people can save money. Furthermore, owning a house is a simple achievement in some societies. For this reason, people are eager to take ownership of a house to prove themselves successful.

Side by side, property ownership has its dark sides and bright sides. To highlight, the merits of owning a house, firstly, it helps people to be more conscious about their financial wellbeing. Not only this but also it gives people an address and a secure place to live and enjoy life.

However, buying a house is sometimes very expensive and it creates a large amount of debt. Besides, many investors and financial experts believe that investing in a house has a lower rate of return compared to other investments such as the stock market.

In conclusion, buying a house or renting both shows some merits and demerits. Therefore, individuals should decide which option is better suited for their needs and future prospects depending on their circumstances. Nonetheless, the matter is multifactorial and would always depend on many socio-economic variables.