In general people are living longer now Discuss the causes of this phenomenon Use specific reasons and details to develop your essay

There's no doubt about the undeniable changes in human life span in the modern world. Many factors are playing essential roles in this change. In my perspective, the most critical parameter is the improvements in our diets. I will pinpoint the two most prominent rationales in what follows.

The first reason to champion this standpoint is that humans achieved various technologies during history, which helped them harvest crops more efficiently. Due to these agricultural enhancements, more food is available for us to consume and livestock to depend on. It's clear that humans can purchase foods much easier than the arduous process of harvesting it in the past. There's no need for most people to spend long hours on their farms while facing a food shortage at the end. Our family's experience is a compelling case for this. My grandfather used to manage several lands, and he was supposed to take care of multiple livestock. According to him, most of his arduous work was useless since diseases would have destroyed all the crops at the end of the year. Besides, the domestic animals were possibly got infected and eventually died. As a result, his family always suffered from food shortages, which exposed him to a massive stress level. Experiencing anxiety leads him to experience heart strokes, which finally caused his death at a young age.

Furthermore, there was no vast knowledge about the importance of nutritious food in the old days. Therefore, most families were vitamin or mineral deficient since they were mostly relying on rice and grains containing high amounts of carbohydrate. Also, people were not aware of the deadly effects of the fats on their physical health. Thus, elders usually suffer from cardiac problems as a result of excessive use of fats. In the modern world, we see an increasing focus on the usage of vegetables and fruits, which are nutritious food sources. For instance, my cousins, who used to live with my grandparents in their childhood, tend to consume much more oil while cooking and preparing food since they grew up seeing my grandmother cooking.

Conversely, my mom is so strict about the amount of salt and oil that she uses (for cooking) to cook meals, which led me to be cautious. Besides, they don't consider fruits as an essential part of their daily diet. However, my mom provides us with an adequate amount of fruits during the day. Last year, when my cousin took a blood test, the amount of non-essential fats was so high in her blood that doctor asked her to stop using oil in her diet. Also, she was suffering from high blood pressure, which eliminated salt consumption in her diet now. In conclusion, being unaware of harmful edible materials can disadvantage your health and reduce your life span, like what used to happen regularly in the old times.

From what has been discussed, we can safely conclude that diets and eating habits can play a primary role in human life duration. It's because people encountered food shortage and anxiety due to this shortage, and the food they had consumed was not nutritious enough in the past. All in all, this caused them to suffer significant physical challenges and eventually live much shorter than modern humans.