Grades encourage students to work harder at school Do you agree or disagree Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion

There's no doubt about the growth of the importance of education in modern people's lives. But we all know that education comes along with grades nowadays. So this raises a controversial question, whether grades encourage educators to study more passionately. Some people believe grades might stress students and cause them to lose concentration; meanwhile, some people consider grades necessary for students' flourishment. In my perspective, the second viewpoint is more rational. In what follows, I will pinpoint the two most prominent/primary rationales to elaborate on my standpoint.

The first reason to champion my point of view is that grades help students to evaluate themselves during a semester, which leads them to get better results. By taking exams during a class, students will quickly understand how much they have learned since now, and if they lack in any topics, they can start working on that sooner. My personal experience is a compelling demonstration of this. Last semester I was taking a course named microeconomics, which had a heavy workload. At first, I complained about how this course takes most of my time and won't let me do anything else during the weekdays. But as time passed, I started to understand that multiple quizzes and exams prepared me for the final exam and helped me learn the topics deeply. At the end of the semester, I could develop a vast amount of knowledge about microeconomics, and I also published my project in a popular newspaper. This example illustrates how grades can encourage students to participate more willingly in class.

Furthermore, the grades help students get more interested in some subjects, which allows them to decide about their future path. Students get encouraged by getting high marks to delve into that subject deeper. For instance, two years ago, I participated in an industrial management course, which I scored 20 out of 20. This encouraged me to read a few books about this topic and do some research about relevant topics. I ended up falling in love with management and started to work in a small company that helped me gain tones of experience, which came in handy later in my further studies. This is how the grading system helped me find out about my interests and get experienced and avid in it.

Based on what is discussed we can safely conclude that grading can help students flourish more than ever. Since it provides them a chance to examine their abilities during the semester, and it also gives them an opportunity them delve further into topics because they got encouraged. However, it can have some negative consequences, but professors can solve this issue easily by their attitudes in the class. Finally, it's an indisputable fact that not only does a wisely arranged grading system not discourage students, but it also can be a boon for educators to put the step in the walk of their life.