Global warming is one of the biggest threats humans face in the 21st century and sea levels are continuing at alarming rates. What problems are associated with this and what are some possible solutions.

Concerns about environmental degradation have been around for decades, with climate change and rising sea level being the two most prominent. This essay aims to elaborate on the problems caused by this phenomenon, followed by practical measures to take.

To commence with, the escalation of global warming comes with a plethora of potential threats to humanity. The problem of flooding is alarming. A rise in ocean level of approximately one metre can cause coastal megacities to be annihilated and engulf island nations around the world. The 2011 Tsunami in Japan, which was a haunting disaster for all of humanity, bears perfect testimony to this. Property and human lives were lost, making a profound influence felt until today.

Effective measures must be implemented to ameliorate the situation. First and foremost, infrastructure improvement policies such as construction of flood barriers, embankment or dam rehabilitation need to be put in place. It is also crucial for the government to establish a task force specialising in research on climate change and develop awareness about the threats looming large. Such efforts, however, would be meaningless without actions to put emissions and deforestation under control, most of which come from industrial manufacturing around the world. Legislation needs to be adopted and enforced on a global scale in an attempt to form decisions and change behaviour. Such a solution, combined with a better understanding of the situation by everyone, could go a long way in protecting lives from the imminent threats of global warming.

To encapsulate, despite the rising ocean levels caused by increasing global temperatures, the problem can be solved by utilising flood prevention systems and enhancing awareness. This will pave the way for a peaceful and promising future.